Today is Halloween

I was just reading an article on Halloween and where did it come from.  I didn’t even think to capture this author’s name.  Sorry about that.  In truth, he didn’t really know himself but gave many ideas as to where it came from.  All in all, it was a day to honor the dead.  And it really had nothing to do with it being evil.  But I do believe as time went along it became evil.  It wasn’t even called Halloween.  In OT times, to atone for sins God required animal sacrifices and the first crops of the harvest, in what was called The Feast of Atonement.

Think about this with me if you will.  Every day someone dies right?  And we grieve for that person.  And every year we think about that person whether on their birthday or their death.  A lot of people will go the gravesites and put flowers on their graves.  Or talk to that person as if he/she were still alive.  Well, one thing for sure, the bodies are in the graves but they are not.  Another thing is this:  People pray to saints and their loved ones as if their prayers will be answered.   (I have been guilty of this myself).  But to tell the truth, the dead can neither hear nor see.   I remember several years back I was on my knees praying.  At that time, I was “in love” with a man that was detrimental to my spiritual being.  We had broken up over some very ungodly reason.  I did not care as to what kind of man he was.  I was determined to have him at any cost.  So, I prayed to God this:  Lord, if you can’t tell me the answer will you please send my brother to me in a dream to tell me whether this man will come back in my life?  Well, guess what?  I had a dream.  My brother woke up from a deep sleep and looked at me and said, “I don’t know”.  Then I remembered something about praying to the dead.  And I repented.  After several months, that man did come back into my life.  And we got married.  We’re divorced now, Praise be unto God Almighty!  (now I don’t want to into that yet or if at all)

What I do want to get into:

My experience with Halloween.

I used to just love Halloween.  Dress up and get free candy.  Lots of free candy!  I knew nothing of the evil side of it at all.  It was just another fun day for me.  As I got older, while raising my 2nd born daughter, we did it for several years.  Even after I had joined this church, which was a Charismatic Methodist Church.  This one woman was trying to convince me how Halloween was evil and tried to show me a scripture in Deuteronomy somewhere and I paid no heed to her.  I was not convicted.  I was going to take my daughter trick or treating regardless of what anyone told me.  So I dressed up as this sexy witch.  (haha) And I stopped by that church that night.  Only for a few seconds since I was in a rich neighborhood with lots of candy.  And this man told me I shouldn’t come in there dressed like that.  He said I would scare the children.  I just told him that the Holy Spirit hasn’t told me otherwise.  He was the same man that once said in a small group home gathering that he would never hug a secular person.  I didn’t even know what secular meant.  I thought it was mean.  Anyways, for me I just outgrew Halloween.  I outgrew that church for it was killing me inside. Can’t do this, can’t do that. God will deliver you from this or that.  And yet when I really needed help where were they?

So what is my point?

My point is this.  After getting over the fear of what people told me about Halloween, I chose to just let it be.  It is none of my business as to what people do on Halloween.  I don’t celebrate it for my own reasons and I don’t miss it at all except for one thing….. Candy Corn!!!  One time out of the year they make Candy Corn.  Especially after Halloween when you can buy one and get one free.  Haha.  So I guess it depends on what your motives are for Halloween, who am I to judge?  I do however know that there are satanists that have their motives which of course, all men are deceived by everything.  I believe The Holy Spirit will convict each person of their own shortcomings and sins.  So in the meantime I will not be in fear of my darling grandbabies dressing up and getting free candy in which Grandma Bear will eat most of them anyways since my daughter is a health fanatic.

Have a good night in whatever you choose to do but don’t sacrifice any animals please because God no longer honors that.

About totellthetruth1962

Born in the City of Angels in 1962. My journey into the truth. Trials and Errors. Just about anything I can think of however bizarre it may sound to you. Both good and bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today is Halloween

  1. This made me think of 1 Corinthians 8 (which talks about how we are to treat others whose faith is not as strong as our own). It seems to me your are taking the right course. While you do not see a need to adhere to the rules of others, you do not ridicule them either. Halloween aside, have a very Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment